You are here

Sanders Prize Recipients

Sanders Prize Recipients

The Marc Sanders Prize is an essay competition open to scholars who, at the time of the submission deadline, are within fifteen (15) years of receiving a Ph.D. or are students currently enrolled in a graduate program. Independent scholars may also be eligible. In the past, one non-invited paper was awarded the Marc Sanders Prize every other year. As of 2016, the Marc Sanders Foundation has graciously supported an annual award recipient.

Past Recipients:

2016: Alex Zakaras

This year there were over 45 applicants. Alex Zakaras, University of Vermont, has won the 2016 Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy for his paper “Complicity and Coercion: Towards an Ethics of Political Participation.”  Zakaras is Associate Professor at the University of Vermont, specializing in political philosophy and the history of political thought. An honorable mention goes to Thomas Sinclair (University of Oxford), the runner-up for the prize. His paper was titled “The Power of Public Positions: Official Roles in Kantian Legitimacy.”

2015: Keith Hyams

Keith Hyams has won the inaugural Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy. Hyams is Associate Professor of Political Theory and Interdisciplinary Ethics in the department of Politics and International Studies at the University of Warwick, where he teaches political theory and works with the Interdisciplinary Ethics Research Group. There were over 75 papers submitted for award consideration.